top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarrie P

Muted Rainbow Baby Blanket

Updated: Sep 7, 2022

Clearly my coworker has a more laidback vibe than me!


As you may know, I started a new job in June. It is 100% remote, with team members scattered throughout the US. It turns out that two of us have Golden Retrievers named Penny. Well, I learned a few weeks ago that Penny is going to become a Nanna Dog to a new human arrival. Despite the fact I barely know any of my coworkers, I usually feel compelled to make a baby gift if someone is expecting. I do not know why. Perhaps I am deep down selfish and want to show them how talented I am? Maybe I want them to like me more? Maybe I don't ever get to make baby things and this is an excuse? I don't know. I just make them.

Perhaps I am deep down selfish and want to show them how talented I am. Maybe I want them to like me more? Maybe I don't ever get to make baby things and this is an excuse? I don't know. I just make them.

I had my heart set on making the Purl Soho Colorful Wedges baby blanket. It is pretty sophisticated and can be knitted up pretty quickly. But then the doctors told Sarah that they want to induce her at least 8 days early, and suddenly, I needed to get a baby blanket started and finished quickly.


I settled on the Crochet Rainbow Moss Stitch baby blanket. I even ordered the exact same yarn, except I used an off-white for the border and base. Then Sarah shared the AMAZING mural she painted for her baby-to-be. Yeah, that rainbow thing wasn't going to work at all. And I did NOT want to buy more yarn. So I made due with the more muted colors in the package, and it worked.


a mural of the world with animals
Sarah's Hand Painted Mural



muted rainbow yarn for a baby blanket
The Colors I Chose

What didn't work was the pattern. Yes, it is a free pattern. No, I do not crochet baby blankets that much anymore. But it was super confusing. The pattern read as though there were two rows for each color - there are not. The pattern read as though you could carry colors up the side - you could not (you could carry one, but not both). It just wasn't a great pattern, but the project itself was quick and easy. I will say, I still hate picking up crochet edging - I would much rather pick up knitted stitches than sides of crochet. That part of the border isn't pretty.


Caron Rainbow Moss Stitch Baby Blanket



a medium sized dog covered by a baby blanket
Veruca Salt Modeling the Blanket Pre-Wash


Yarm:

Hook:

  • US J (6.0 MM) for the base chain - should have gone down one size

  • US H (5.0 mm) for the body

Pattern:


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page